Fresno - California Food Handler Training Card

California Food Safety Handler Requirements

California law requires all food handlers in the food service and hospitality industry in the State of California to have a California Food Handler Card. California Retail Food Code – CalCode:

  • Definition: “Food Handler” means an individual who is involved in the preparation, storage, or service of food in a food facility ... or in a temporary food facility. §113790 (a)
  • New Hires: All new hires have 30 days to obtain a food handler card. §113948 (a) (1)
  • Re-training: Food handler cards are valid for 3 years from the date of issuance. §113948 (a) (2)
  • Responsibility: It is the employee's responsibility acquire a food handler card and is the property of the employee. The employee may change jobs without having to obtain a new card. §113790 (a)

California food handler safety training is designed for food service employees that work in restaurants, cafes, bakeries, delis, mobile vendors, food trucks, bars, and convenience stores – such as chefs, cooks, food servers, food handlers, food preparers, caterers, supervisors, and managers.

California Retail Food Handler Training Mandates

Senate Bill 602, effective July 1, 2011, requires every California food handler who is involved in the preparation, storage or service of food in a food facility has to take a California state-certified food handler course and pass an authorized test.

Senate Bill 303
made technical changes to the Food Handler Card Law requiring training providers to be accredited through the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).

California Department of Public Health Approved & ANSI Accredited

Our food handler training has been approved by the California Department of Public Health - accredited by ANSI - and is valid throughout California.*

* Notes:

  1. Training valid throughout California – except for Riverside and San Bernardino County – which have local food handler card programs.
  2. San Diego County recently approved changes to accept our training. (360training)
    Source: San Diego County – Department of Environmental Health


Fresno - California Food Handler Training Course, Rules, and Contact Info

  • Food Handler
  • State Regulations
  • State Contact
  • Local Requirements

Fresno - California Food Handler Training

Course Description
The California Food Handler online training course instructs the student the basics of food safety principles, regulations, and techniques to maintain a food-safe environment in a California food establishment. It will help the student better understand how handling food correctly is not only the law, but it improves safety and reduces risks.

The course will cover the following topics: food safety definitions, safe hygienic practices, safe food temperatures, cross-contamination of food, and food-related illnesses.

Audience: Wait staff – servers, chefs, cooks, mobile food vendors, bartenders, host/hostesses that handle food, bussers, caterers, supervisors and managers, food warehouse staff, and convenience store (c-store) clerks.

Course Duration: 75 mins

Course Outline

  • Lesson 1: Introduction to Food Safety
  • Lesson 2: Biohazards, Foodborne Disease, and Food Spoilage
  • Lesson 3: Contaminants
  • Lesson 4: Food and Temperature Control
  • Lesson 5: Employee Health, Hygiene and Training
  • Lesson 6: Purchasing, Receiving and Storing Food
  • Lesson 7: Cleaning and Sanitizing
  • Lesson 8: Pest Control
  • Lesson 9: Facility Design

End of Course – Exam
At the conclusion of the course, the learner will be tested on their knowledge of the learning objectives and content. You will be required to pass a comprehensive test and must pass with a 75% or better.

Upon successfully passing the exam, the learner will be issued a California Food Handler Card – or certificate of completion and will be able to download and print the food handler training certificate of completion.

To print your Certificate of Completion please go to the “My Courses” section of your profile, and from the “Show” drop-down list select “Completed Courses”. Once selected, please click on the “Print Certificate” icon in blue to print your Certificate of Completion.


California Food Safety Regulations & Rules

California legal requirements for Food Handlers and Certified Food Managers:

California Food Truck & Mobile Food Vendor Rules/Regulations

California Food Handler Training is accepted in these counties: Los Angeles County CA,Orange County CA,San Diego County CA,Riverside County CA,Santa Clara County CA,Alameda County CA,Sacramento County CA,Contra Costa County CA,Fresno County CA,Ventura County CA,San Francisco County CA,Kern County CA,San Mateo County CA,San Joaquin County CA,Stanislaus County CA,Sonoma County CA,Tulare County CA,Solano County CA,Monterey County CA,Santa Barbara County CA,Placer County CA,San Luis Obispo County CA,Santa Cruz County CA,Merced County CA,Marin County CA,Butte County CA,Yolo County CA,El Dorado County CA, and many more!

California Food Safety State Contact Info

Fresno County
Department of Public Health
Consumer Food Program
1221 Fulton Street, 3rd Floor
Fresno, CA 93775-1867
Phone: (559) 600-3357

California Department of Public Health
Food and Drug Branch
Retail Food Program
1500 Capitol Ave, MS 7602
PO Box 997377
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 558-1784

Sacramento County Environmental Management Department
Environmental Health Division
Retail Food Protection Program
10590 Armstrong Avenue, Suite B
Mather, Ca. 95655-4153
Phone: (916) 875-8440

California Department of Food and Agriculture
1220 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814


California Food Safety Local Requirements

  • Riverside and San Bernardino Counties
    Training not valid in Riverside and San Bernardino Counties – which have local food handler card programs.

  • San Diego County
    San Diego County recently approved changes to accept our training. (360training)
    Source: San Diego County – Department of Environmental Health