The top 3 causes of foodborne illness attributed to food preparation and service handlers are: poor personal hygiene, improper holding temperatures, and improper cooling procedures.
Since the majority of foodborne illnesses are attributed to food service handlers, and the top contributing factors are related to handlers behavior, the importance of the training food handlers receive is critical.
To comply with California Law, every retail food facility has requirements for Food Handlers and Certified Food Managers and must ensure that:
- At least one (1) employee be certified in food safety by passing an approved Food Safety Certification examination. Each retail food establishment must also have at least one Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM) as required in CalCode – Section 113945.
- All employees involved in the preparation, storage or service of food in a food facility must obtain a food handler card. The California Food Handler Card requirement is specified in CalCode – Sections 113790 and 113948.
- Learn about foodborne pathogens, cross contamination, cold and hot food safety, and best practices to prevent foodborne illness.
- Food Manager ANSI Certification: $99.00
- Food Handler ANSI Training: Only $7.00!
- HACCP Training 16hr/4hr/1hr
- 10% OFF: Promo "TRAIN10OFF" at Checkout
Who does California food handler training rules apply to?
Food Handlers – As defined in Section 113790 of California Retail Food Code (CalCode):
- 113790. (a) “Food handler” means an individual who is involved in the preparation, storage, or service of food in a food facility, as defined in subdivision (b), other than an individual holding a valid food safety certificate issued pursuant to Section 113947.3 or an individual involved in the preparation, storage, or service of food in a temporary food facility, as defined in Section 113930.
Source: California Retail Food Code – CalCode (PDF
California Food Safety Course, Rules, Regulations and Guidelines
California Code (Cal Code) requirements for Food Handlers and Certified Food Managers:
- California Food Handler Card requirement is specified in CalCode – Sections 113790 and 113948
- California Certified Food Manager (CFM) requirement is specified in CalCode – Section 113945
- California Retail Food Code – CalCode (PDF)
- California Food Handler Card Law Guidelines (Word Doc)
- SB 602 – California Food Handler Card Requirements (PDF)
- California Food Safety Program Rules and Guidelines
- FAQs: Commonly Asked Questions about AB 1978, California Food Safety and Sanitation Training, and Certified Examination
California Food Truck & Mobile Food Vendor Rules/Regulations
- Sacramento County – Mobile Food Vendors
- Southern California Mobile Food Vendors Association
- San Diego County – Mobile Food Vendors (PDF)
- Find LA Food Trucks
- Los Angeles County – Mobile Food Facilities
- Fresno County – Mobile Food Vendors (PDF)
- San Joaquin Couty – Mobile Food Facilities (PDF)
- Orange County – Carts/Trucks Mobile Food Facility
- San Bernardino County – Temporary Food Facilities (PDF)
- City of Riverside – Reulation of Mobile Food Vendors (PDF)
- City/County of San Francisco – Mobile Food Facilities
- Alameda County – Mobile Food Facilities
- City of Woodland – Mobile Food Vendor Requirements (PDF)
- City of Davis – Mobile Food Vendor Requirements (PDF)
- Napa County – Mobile Food Vendors
- Sonoma County- Mobile Food Facilities
- City of Santa Cruz – Mobile Food Vending
- City of Santa Rosa – Mobile Vending Permits
- City of Oakland – Mobile Food Vending
- City of San Leandro – Mobile Food Vending
- Solano County – Mobile Food Facility Requirements
- Yuba County – Mobile Food Facility Guidelines (PDF)
- Stanford University – Mobile Food Vendors
The California Food Handler Card law is designed to ensure that restaurant employees receive a reasonable level of training in food safety practices to reduce the potential for foodborne illness. Food handlers must have a California Food Handler Card 30 days from the date of hire.